Don the Dillo

May 30, 2009

Where I live, we don’t have armadillos. My boyfriend finds them adorable and kept asking me if we could have one as a pet, so I decided to make him one for his birthday. Needless to say, he adores this 10-inch buddy that rolls up into a ball when tired.

I couldn’t find any armadillo patterns I liked, and I wanted it to be able to roll up into a ball, so I gathered up all my courage and decided to try inventing one. This is my first attempt at inventing my own pattern, and I’m proud of the result.

The pattern is now available here for all to try. If anything is unclear, please tell me.Also, if you make a Don, please send me photos!!

Happy knitting!!

download_free_button_rav

I think Don likes coffee

I think Don likes coffee

Don the Dillo pattern

13 Responses to “Don the Dillo”

  1. tish said

    Besides being adorable, your Don is much safer since real ‘dillos carry TB and really don’t make very good pets. My daughters have hounded me for years for a hedgehog so I feel your pain! (My 17yo finally knit and felted herself one using the Fiber Trends pattern) Thanks for posting the pattern- I can’t wait to try it.

  2. moiraeknittoo said

    This is quite possibly the most adorable thing I’ve seen in about forever. I love it! I really have to see if I have the yarns for this. 😀

  3. Sara said

    He is so sweet! You are so clever to be able to design something like this. Well done and thanks for posting the pattern.

  4. ABSYNTHEE said

    Omg omg omg omg so cute!!!

    I may just have to be adventurous enough to try this one! To quote Limenviolet…squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!

    lurve,
    Absynthee

  5. fierymyst said

    I love this pattern, too bad I only do crochet amigurmi’s though. He is too cute! Nice job on your first pattern!

  6. […] the Dillo Jun.10, 2009 in FeedNews get the free pattern for Don the Dillo [via the daily chum]. [ravelry […]

  7. Keti said

    Absolutely adorable!! Thank you for this uber-cute pattern. 😀

  8. […] you know that Armadillos really like to drink Tea?? I bet not. Here’s my latest toy addition, Don the Dillo, who I think is just ridiculously cute. I made him as an early B-day gift for the hubbs, and he […]

  9. Cathy said

    I have tried to make the ears every way I can think of and I can’t get it to work. Do I start with 4 stitches on each of 2 needles (total 8) and 2 balls of wool? or 2 stitches each on 2 (total 4). If I use dpn procedure, will it be a tube? I can’t seem to get the total number of stitches you have in brackets no matter how I try. Any clarification would be really appreciated.
    Thanks

  10. Suzy said

    That is adorable! I’m going to attempt to make this for a friend who is calling her baby armadillo!

  11. Sandy said

    Love this pattern!! I have some questions about it which I messaged you about on ravelry.

  12. […] three, this snuffly little cutie (now christened Beatrix, or Trixie for short) came about. I found this awesome pattern for a knitted armadillo quite some time ago now, and I’ve just been waiting […]

Leave a Reply

